Full iDataAgent Restore Options

Use this dialog box to select the options for a full iDataAgent restore. A full iDataAgent restore recovers not only user data, but system state data as well.

Select from the following options:

Destination Client

A full iDataAgent restore should always be to the same client from which the backup was made; the one exception to this is when performing a Disaster Recovery for an All-in-One Server, in which case you should select the All-in-One Server as the Destination Client. For more information, see Rebuilding the CommServe for Small Business or a Single Site in Books Online.

File System

Specifies whether to include File System data in this restore with the corresponding options described below.

Restore Deleted Files/Folders (no-image)

Specifies whether to implement a no-image browse, where the system restores the client computer with all the data that was ever backed up as of the specified backup time.  If cleared, the system restores the computer using the image of the data as it existed as of the specified backup time.

Unconditional Overwrite

Specifies whether the restored data is unconditionally written to the specified location.
If cleared:

  • files whose names are the same as those in the restore path and where the backed up data is as old or older are not restored.
  • files whose names are the same as those in the restore path and where the backed up data is newer are restored.
  • files whose names are different from those in the restore path are restored.

This option currently supports files only; it does not support directories.

Restore ACLs

Specifies whether all data being restored retains its original access control lists (i.e., ACLs) and therefore its original security attributes. If cleared, the data is restored without the ACLs and consequently, the restored data assumes the ACLs of the parent directory.

Recreate Mount Points

Specifies whether to recreate during the restore operation any mount points that have been deleted.  If cleared, any mount points that have been deleted will not be restored.

Exclude Files/Folders

Click to specify files and/or folders that you want to filter from the restore.

System State

Specifies whether to include the System State in this restore with the corresponding options described below.
There are several objects included in a System State restore. The system provides a choice of restore type only for SYSVOL.  For Active Directory, a non-authoritative restore is performed without offering restore type options. To force an authoritative or primary restore, you must use the ntdsutil utility.

Restore Option for SYSVOL

Lists the available restore options for SYSVOL.  To change a restore option, click one in the list.

  • A primary restore marks the restored data as the primary data for all of the replicas within the domain. This creates a new File Replication Service (FRS) database, and it pushes the replicated System State data to any domain controllers added to the replication system.  A primary restore should be used only when all other domain controllers are non-functional and you want to rebuild the domain from the last backup. Do not perform a primary restore if any other working domain controller from this domain is available.
  • When the restored data is meant to override the data on other domain controllers, it should be restored using the authoritative mode. Once this data is restored to the domain controller, it is propagated to the other domain controllers and will overwrite any newer data on those computers. The authoritative mode is useful if critical System State data has been deleted and the delete has been propagated to other servers. Authoritative restores must be performed with caution, as the System State will be rolled back to the point of the backup, possibly resulting in a loss of data that cannot be restored once overwritten.
  • When System State data is restored to a domain controller, it is restored in a non-authoritative mode by default . After restoring in the non-authoritative mode, newer data on the network is propagated to the restored computer, updating it with any newer information.

System Databases

Specifies whether to browse and select system databases to be restored. The selectable databases will vary depending upon the browse time interval you selected in the System Database Browse Options dialog box.

Service Pack and Patch Information

Specifies the Operating System and Service Pack level of the operating system data to be restored.

New Browse

Click to control the browse time interval and copy precedence for this restore operation.

Decryption

Click to enter the pass-phrase that is currently assigned to the client for restore operations that are run immediately.

Change Priority

Click to change the priority for the restore operation.