Subclient Properties of <subclient name> (Backup Arguments)

Use this tab to administer online backups, offline backups and backup log files.

Online Backup

Specifies that backups for this subclient will be run with the database online. If a backup is run with the database online, other applications can access the database while the backup is in progress. Online backups are available only for recoverable databases.

Offline Backup

Specifies that backups for this subclient will be run with the database offline. If a backup is run with the database offline, this job has an exclusive connection to the database; therefore, any other access to the database is not allowed while the backup is in progress. An offline backup cannot run if any other applications are already running on the database.

Number of Buffers

Use this space to specify the number of buffers for the backup. Default is 1. However, if you are backing up to multiple locations, you should use a sufficient number of buffers to improve performance, and to avoid potential backup failure.

Buffer Size

Use this space to specify the size (in 4 KB pages) of each buffer to be used for building the backup image. The minimum value is 8, and the default value is 1024.

Parallelism

Use this space to specify the number of table spaces to be read in parallel for backup.  If the number is not set, optimal value will be chosen automatically.

Use Db2 Compression

Specifies whether the backup uses DB2 compression methods.

Back up Log Files

Specifies whether log files will be backed up for this subclient. When cleared, you must select the Backup Data option on the Content tab.

To back up DB2 or DB2 MultiNode archive logs using the SnapProtect VENDOR library set the LOGARCHMETH1 and LOGARCHOPT1 parameters as described in DB2 Configuration.

To backup DB2 archive logs using the SBT interface, set the LOGARCHMETH1 and LOGARCHOPT1  parameters.

Delete Log Files After

Specifies whether to delete the log files from the DB2 or DB2 MultiNode log path and the archive path after a backup but still keep the files in the backup media. This field is active only when the Back up Log Files option is selected.