User Group Properties (General)

Use this dialog box to establish or change the general properties of a user group.

You must have the User Management capability to change the properties of a user group.

Name

The name assigned to the user group.

Description

Some descriptive information about the user group; perhaps an organization name.

Enabled

If selected, the user group is enabled.

If cleared, the user group is disabled. Consequently, the capabilities and CommCell resources that are associated this group will be unavailable to the user group members.

All Capabilities

If selected, the user group is assigned all defined capabilities. Also, the Capabilities tab becomes unavailable, since it is not appropriate to select individual capabilities.

If cleared, the user group is assigned only those capabilities that are listed in the Assigned Capabilities list of the Capabilities tab.

All Associations

If selected, the user group is associated to all defined CommCell resources. Also, the Associated Objects tab becomes unavailable, since it is not necessary to list individual resources.

If cleared, the user group is associated with only those CommCell resources that are listed in the Associated Objects tab.

CommCell resources include the following:

  • CommServe
  • Client Computer Group
  • Client Computer
  • Agent
  • MediaAgent
  • Library
  • Storage Policy
  • Backup Set/Instance (where applicable)
  • Subclient (where applicable)