Client Computer Groups - FAQ

Why should I use client computer groups?

Once created, client computer groups can be used to perform the following tasks for all their members:

  • Create Schedule Policies
  • Set Firewall Settings
  • Associate User Groups with specific security
  • Install Updates
  • Generate Reports
  • View job history details
  • Set the activity control for backup/restore operations
  • Set up operation window

Can my client be part of more than one client computer group?

Yes. A client computer can be a member of multiple client computer groups. For more information, refer to Associating/Disassociating Clients.

You can associate your client to more than one client group, after your first association.

Which capabilities do I need to create a Smart Client group?

You must have the following capabilities on the client computers which you plan to associate to your smart client group:

To add capabilities to a user group, see Assigning Capabilities to a User Group.

Does the "Package Installed" rule validate virtual clients in the CommCell?

No. The Package Installed rule validates only physical clients in the CommCell.

What happens to a Smart Client group whose creator has been deleted?

When the CommCell user that created a smart client group is deleted, the client association defined in that client group is removed. This means that clients are no longer associated to the client group. Also, an event marked with Critical severity appears in the Event Viewer window of the CommCell Console.

If the CommCell user who created a Client Group is deleted, what happens when another user changes the group to a Smart Client Group?

When you change a client group that has no creator to a smart client group, you are defined as the new creator of that client group. For this to happen, you must have the following capabilities associated:

For information on client computer group permissions, see Capabilities and Permitted Actions by Feature: Client Computer Group.