Deconfigure and Reconfigure Components - Frequently Asked Questions

I have deconfigured clients from older SnapProtect releases, can I reconfigure them?

Unlicensed clients from SnapProtect 9 or higher can be reconfigured. Clients from older releases, such as version 8, cannot be reconfigured.

During a CommServe upgrade, are deconfigured clients also upgraded?

If the CommServe software is upgraded to a new software release, any deconfigured clients from up to two prior releases will be automatically upgraded to the same software release. Thus, if a deconfigured client must be reinstalled, it will need to be reinstalled using the installation package for the same software release as the CommServe.

In cases where the deconfigured client is three or more releases older than the current release, the DBUpgrade utility can be used to upgrade the deconfigured client to the current software release.

Can I release the license for a component using Administrative Management capabilities?

The user performing the release a license operation should have Administrative Management capabilities for a CommCell entity which is at a higher level than the entity that you want to deconfigure. For example, if you are releasing the license for a client, these capabilities cannot be used to perform this operation from the client level.

I cannot remove the client from the CommServe Database, what can I do?

If a client crashes, and if you cannot remove the client from the CommServe database, you can use the release a license operation to remove the Client. However, this does not uninstall the client.

What happens with the Data Retention policy when a component is deconfigured?

Commonly, the retention days must be exceeded for data to be aged when:

  • a user changes the storage policy association of a subclient
  • a client, agent or subclient are deleted, or a client or an agent is deleted

In these cases, retention cycles are set to zero (0). However, when you release the license for a client or an agent, the associated data will be aged according to the associated storage policy copy’s defined retention time and cycle rules. In this case, retention cycles are honored. If necessary, to ignore the defined retention cycle rules, you can enable the Ignore Cycles Retention on De-Configured Clients option from the Media Management Configuration (Service Configuration) dialog box in the Control Panel.

Can I configure an Update Cache for a deconfigured or deleted client?

Yes, but all other clients associated with this update cache operation will automatically receive their updates from the CommServe Update Cache. For more information, see Automatic Updates.

Can I review the list of components that I deconfigured?

Yes. Releasing license operations are recorded in the Audit Trail. See Audit Trail for more information.