Data Loss Prevention (DLP) - Online Help

The following options are available from the CommCell® console at the client level from Client Properties > Advanced > Data Loss Prevention, and at the client group level from Client Group Properties > Data Loss Prevention.

Table of Contents

Periodic Document Encryption

The settings in this tab allow the administrator to configure the Data Loss Prevention automatic scanning and locking settings.

Enable Data Loss Prevention for These Documents

Select this check box to enable the Data Loss Prevention feature on the client or client group.

Lock Following Contents

The paths to documents or folders added to this field will be locked according to the DLP scan settings.

  • Delete

    Click this button to remove paths from the Lock Following Contents field.

  • Browse (Client-Level)

    Click this button to open a browser to select paths to add to the Lock Following Contents field. This option is only available at the client level.

  • Add Paths

    Click this button to manually enter paths to add to the Lock Following Contents field.

  • Edit Paths

    Click this button to manually edit the paths in the Lock Following Contents field.

Skip Following Contents

The paths or file extensions added to this field will never be locked during DLP scans.

  • Delete

    Click this button to remove paths from the Skip Following Contents field.

  • Add Paths

    Click this button to manually enter paths or file extensions to add to the Skip Following Contents field.

Lock

Use the options in the Lock section to configure DLP scan settings.

  • Rescan DLP Contents Every <n> Minutes

    The value of this box defines how frequently the folders added to the Lock Following Contents field will be scanned for new or unlocked content. During the DLP scan, newly created items or unlocked documents will be locked.

  • Auto-Protect Documents that Are More than <n> Minutes Old

    The value of this box defines the amount of time before recently created or modified documents are locked during DLP scans. If a new document is located in an automatically locked folder and was created or modified n minutes before a DLP scan, it is not locked.

Unlock

Use the options in the Unlock section to configure how files are unlocked on the client computer and report a lost or stolen device.

  • Allow Backup Server to Unlock Documents

    Select this check box to enable the CommServe® software to unlock files before backups. Selecting this option will also allow the user to open locked files without entering a pass-key, unless Mark Device as Lost or Stolen is also selected.

  • Enable Automatic Unlock

    When this option is selected, end-users can double-click to open a locked file. If Allow Backup Server to Unlock Documents is also selected, then users will not be prompted to enter a pass-key to open the file, as well.

    NOTE: You cannot enable this option on a Windows 10 computer.

  • Mark Device as Lost or Stolen (Client-Level)

    Select this check box to mark a client as lost or stolen. This will prompt the user to enter the correct pass-key when attempting to open any locked file on the client. This option is only available at the client level.

Secure Erase

The settings in this tab allow the administrator to configure the Data Loss Prevention automatic document erasure settings.

Enable Secure Erase

Select this check box to enable the Secure Erase feature on the client or client group.

Securely Erase Selected Documents After the Client Stays Offline for More than <n> Days

The value of this box defines how long a client must be offline before the files specified in the Recursively Erase the Following Contents field are erased.

Securely Erase Selected Documents Now or as Soon as the Client Comes Back Online (Client-Level)

Select this box to erase the files listed in the Recursively Erase the Following Contents field. If the client is currently online, the files will be erased immediately. If the client is offline, the files will be erased when the client is online. This action is irreversible. This option is only available at the client level.

Recursively Erase the Following Contents

The paths to documents or folders added to this field will be deleted according to the Secure Erase settings.

  • Delete

    Click this button to remove paths from the Recursively Erase the Following Contents field.

  • Browse (Client-Level)

    Click this button to open a browser to select paths to add to the Recursively Erase the Following Contents field. This option is only available at the client level.

  • Add Paths

    Click this button to manually enter paths to add to the Recursively Erase the Following Contents field.

  • Edit Paths

    Click this button to manually edit the paths in the Recursively Erase the Following Contents field.

Skip Following Contents

The paths or file extensions added to this field will never be erased by Secure Erase.

  • Delete

    Click this button to remove paths from the Skip Following Contents field.

  • Add Paths

    Click this button to manually enter paths or file extensions to add to the Skip Following Contents field.