Scheduling - FAQ

What happens to job schedules once the agent, client, or instance is deconfigured?

All Data Protection/Data Recovery job schedules (independent and those part of a schedule policy) that are related to the specific Agent, Client, or Instance will continue to be displayed in the Schedule Details dialog box after the Agent, Client, or Instance has been deconfigured.

You will be able to run restore jobs and the scheduled restore operations will also run even after the Agent, Client, or Instance has been deconfigured. However, you will not be able to run, edit, or perform a Run Immediately operation on the schedule unless the Agent or Client is reinstalled or unless the Instance is reconfigured.

Do schedules get deleted when a client is uninstalled?

Whenever all the agents on a client are uninstalled, the client's schedules are marked for deletion and are not deleted immediately. The schedules are subsequently deleted when the services are restarted or when the schedules try to run again.

What happens to a job schedule when an agent is reinstalled?

Reinstalling the agent will enable any pre-existing schedules (independent and those part of a schedule policy) that were previously disabled when the agent was uninstalled. However, if a change, such as an upgrade, is made to a deconfigured agent prior to its reinstallation, the schedules related to that specific agent will no longer be recognized and will need to be reconfigured manually after the reinstallation.

Even though backup operations are scheduled for the same time, why don't they run concurrently?

If the subclients within a backup set or instance are mapped to the same storage policy, and if that storage policy is not configured for multiple data streams, then the system queues the operations and performs one data protection operation at a time.