Virtualize Me for Linux - FAQ

Table of Contents

General

How can we select only the system mount points for restore during 1-Touch recovery or VirtualizeME?

On selecting Automatic Disk Layout option, Logical Volume Manager (LVM) will be used for disk configuration during restores. It maps the system mount onto a single disk and non-system mount points to another disk which can be added later. This feature is useful when non-system mount points reside on disks provisioned by iSCSI or SAN.

Can I convert a Virtual machine into a physical machine?

Yes. Follow the steps given below to convert a virtual machine into a physical machine:

  1. Ensure that you have enabled 1-Touch backup on the virtual machine and you have performed atleast one full backup.
  2. Create a response file for the virtual machine and  perform the Non-Interactive Restore using the response file.

    For more information about creating response file for a Windows machine, refer to Non-Interactive Restore.

    For more information about creating response file for a Linux machine, refer to Non-Interactive Restore.

    During Non interactive restore, copy the response file on a USB drive and connect the USB drive to a physical machine.

Is it mandatory to create an instance for the vCenter in which I want to create the VM?

No. It is not mandatory to create an instance for the vCenter. You must install Virtual Server iDataAgent in the CommCell. If you do not create an instance of the vCenter, follow these steps:

  1. Click Change on the Virtualize Me dialog box, and then enter the hostname of the vCenter.
  2. Enter the User Name and Password for the vCenter.
  3. Enter the ESX Server name and Data Store name.
  4. Enter the path of the Boot CD image in the ISO Path box.

Do I need to create a VM lifecycle policy when I virtualize a computer?

No. There is no need to create a VM Lifecycle Policy during the process of virtualizing a computer.

Are all the iDataAgents present on the source client preserved on the cloned client?

No. All of the agents installed interactively on the source client will be re-registered on the cloned client. Agents that were installed later via remote install using CommCell Console are not re-registered. You may need to re-install and configure those on the cloned client if they are required.

Post Recovery

I see some clients on the CommServe GUI with their names ending with <_ recovery>. What are these clients?

These are the temporary clients created during file system restores as part of the 1-Touch recovery process.

  • If VirtualizeME is invoked with the Clone Machine option unchecked, a temporary client with name, <original_client_name>_recovery, will be used temporarily to perform the restores and will be deleted soon after the successful completion of 1-Touch recovery or VirtualizeME operation, or on failure during VirtualizeME.
  • If VirtualizeME is invoked with the Clone Machine option checked, the temporary client will use the name provided in the Client Name box. This client will be retained upon successful 1-Touch recovery or VirtualizeME but it will get deleted on failures.

    Always ensure that there is no existing client on the CommServe with the name  <original_client_name>_recovery or with the new client name before running 1-Touch recovery or VirtualizeME.

Why does the readiness check to my original client fail even after  a successful or failed 1-Touch recovery or VirtualizeME?

Communication between the client and the CommServe or MediaAgent is secured using SSL certificate authentication. If the Clone Machine option is not selected then the original client name will be retained on the machine being recovered. The certificates for the original client will be revoked and new certificates will be generated for the new machine. Hence the original machine can no longer connect to the CommServe. It is therefore recommended to use the Clone Machine option to create a new client during 1-Touch recovery or VirtualizeME which will leave the original client unaffected.

If you are in a situation where you want to use the original client again and not the new client, then follow these steps:

  1. Shutdown the new machine or turn off snapprotect services and disable networking on it.
  2. From the CommServe GUI, navigate to Tools | Control Panel |  Certificate Administration.
  3. Select the client and click Revoke, and then click OK.
  4. Restart services on the original client.