Restore Options (General)

Use this dialog box to control how the specified data is to be restored. This dialog box is also used for selecting options related to scheduled or non-scheduled search and restore operations.

Overwrite

  • Overwrite if file on media is newer 

    If selected, this option will overwrite the existing file with the file that was backed up/archived to the media provided the backed up/archived file is newer than the existing file.

  • Unconditional Overwrite

    Specifies whether the restored data is unconditionally written to the specified location.

    If cleared:

    • Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the restore path and where the backed up data is as old or older are not restored.
    • Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the restore path and where the backed up data is newer are restored.
    • Files/directories whose names are different from those in the restore path are restored.

      Avoid using this option whenever you run a Restore by Jobs. Otherwise, an older version of the files might be retrieved.

  • Restore only if target exists

    If selected, this option will only restore files that currently exist in the restore path. Files that exist on the media but not in the restore path will not be restored.

Restore Destination

Restore to Same Folder

If specified, this option will restore files to the same location from where they were backed up. Clear this option to restore files to a different client and location.

Destination Client

Displays the name of the client computer to which the selected data will be restored. To change the destination computer, select one from the list. The list includes clients:

  • Which are established as clients within the CommCell.
  • Clients with Operating Systems that support the cross-platform restore operation from this client. (Refer to the topic titled Cross Platform Restore Operations in Books Online for additional information.)

By default, data is restored to the same computer from which it was backed up.

Specify Destination Path

Specifies the location on the destination client where the files will get restored.

Preserve Source Paths

Specifies the action taken when the data is restored to another destination. The options are available only when the Restore to same folder option is cleared.

  • Preserve n levels from end of the source path

Specifies whether the restore operation must keep the specified number of levels at the end of source path of the selected data. For example, if the selected data is Documents\Memos\Sales, this option is set to 1 and the destination folder is temp, the data will be recovered as \temp\Sales.

However, if this option is used to restore a file in a path that contains any valid wildcard expression (e.g., Documents\**\Sales), the default value of 1 for the option cannot be changed. Therefore, only the last found occurrence of the file is recovered, and the recovered data for all the other occurrences of the file are overwritten.

  • Remove n levels from beginning of the source path

Specifies whether the restore operation must remove the specified number of levels from the beginning of source path of the selected data. For example, if the selected data is Documents\Memos\Sales, this option is set to 1 and the destination folder is \temp, the data will be recovered as \temp\Memos\Sales.

Advanced

Click to select additional restore options.

Save As Script

Click to open the Save As Script dialog, which allows you to save this operation and the selected options as a script file (in XML format). The script can later be executed from the Command Line Interface using qoperation execute command.

When you save an operation as a script, each option in the dialog will have a corresponding XML parameter in the script file. When executing the script, you can modify the value for any of these XML parameters as per need.

For more information on restores performed from the command line, see Command Line Interface for Unix File System iDataAgent.