Advanced Restore Options (NAS Options)

Use this dialog box to select advanced NAS options for the restore operation. Note that all the options described in this help may not be available in the dialog box. The options displayed in the dialog box are applicable to the file server being used.

Recursive Restore

Specifies that the restore will also include all files and subdirectories of the directory specified, rather than just the specified directory.

Exclusive Restore

Prevents the concurrent execution of multiple backup or restore operations on the same file system.

Overwrite

If selected, specifies that if an item to be restored already exists, that item will be overwritten by the restored item.

If cleared:

  • backed up files/directories whose names are the same as those in the restore path are not restored unless they are newer than the existing file/directory.
  • backed up files/directories whose names are different from those in the restore path are restored.

Restore User and Group Quotas

Controls the restore of user and group quotas. If set to No, only tree (hierarchical) quota records will be restored (user or group quotas are ignored).

Restore Enable 8.3 Names

Specifies whether to restore file names from tape. If set to Yes, any 8.3 file name that was backed up is restored. However, this can cause a naming conflict. If a naming conflict occurs, the ONStor Gateway posts a warning message and uses a new file name. If set to No, a file name is generated by the file system, which can result in a name that is different from the one that was backed up.

Restore Subtree Quotas

Controls the restore of tree (hierarchical) quotas. If set to No, this variable restores no tree quota information from tape. If set to Yes, the tree quota information is restored. Restoring tree quota information involves restoring only the default and limit values for a tree.

Restore QTree Configuration and Usage

Controls whether to restore the tree or directory quota information from tape to a live file system. If set to Yes, tree and directory quota configuration information and usage conditions are restored. If set to No, tree and directory quota configuration and usage conditions are left on tape and log messages are generated.