Advanced - OSSV Plug-In Configuration

New installations and upgrades are not supported in this release.

A new solution using NetApp Logical Replication will be available in a future service pack.

Table of Contents

Understanding the CommCell Console

The OSSV Plug-In uses the following main components to perform backup and restore operations from the CommCell Console.

Agent - collective information of all the data that needs to be backed up for the client.

Subclient - defines the data to be backed up from a volume on the client computer to the destination volume on the file server.

Configuring File System Data Backups

As volumes on the client computer may contain large amounts of data, you can create user defined subclients to manage your backups. Follow the steps given below to back up a volume containing file system data.

  1. From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client>.
  2. Right-click the OSSV Plug-In and click All Tasks | New Subclient.
  3. Type a name for the new subclient in the Subclient name box.
  4. Select the OSSV policy from the OSSV Policy drop-down list.
  5. Click the Content tab.
  1. Click Add Volume.
  2. Select the volumes you want to add and click OK.

    If the selected data is already included in any other subclient, it will be excluded automatically from that subclient.

  3. Repeat steps 6 and 7 to include all the volumes to be backed up.
  4. Click the Storage Policy tab.
  5. Click the Backup Snapshots check box.
  6. Select the storage policy you want to use to backup the snapshot to media from the Storage Policy drop-down list. The Backup Set box will be automatically populated.
  7. Click OK.

Modifying User Accounts for a File Server

If the file server access information has been modified, follow the steps given below to change the user account settings.

  1. From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client>.
  2. Right-click the OSSV Plug-In and click Properties.
  3. Click NDMP Properties.
  4. Select the Change Password check box.
  5. Enter the user name in the NDMP Login box.
  6. Enter the password in the NDMP Password box.
  7. Click OK.

Configuring Pre and Post Processing for Backups

You can add and modify Pre/Post processes for a subclient. These are batch files or shell scripts that you can run before or after certain job phases. For example, you can use an echo command to check the level of a backup. Similarly, you can include a case statement within a script to run specific operations based on the level of the backup job.

The Pre/Post Process commands are executed on the MediaAgent associated with the active drive pool of the storage policy that is assigned to the subclient. Ensure that the required batch files or shell scripts are available on the MediaAgent where the Pre/Post commands are executed.

Follow the steps given below to specify the Pre/Post commands for a subclient:

  1. From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client> | OSSV Plug-In.
  2. Right-click the subclient and then click Properties.
  3. Click the Pre/Post Process tab.
  1. Depending on the process you want to set up, click the corresponding Browse button or enter the path of the batch file or the shell script in one of the following boxes:
    • PreSnap Process
    • PostSnap Process
    • PreCopy Process
    • PostCopy Process
  2. Click OK.

Setting Up Post Processes to Run during Failures

By default, a specified post process command is executed when a backup job is completed or killed.

Use the following steps to run a post process when the backup operation does not complete.

  1. From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client> | OSSV Plug-In.
  2. Right-click the subclient and then click Properties.
  3. Click the Pre/Post Process tab.
  1. Enter the path of the batch file or the shell script in the PostSnap Process and/or PostCopy Process boxes.
  2. Depending on the process you specified in the previous step, select the following options to run the process for all attempts:
    • Run PostSnap Process even if snap phase fails
    • Run PostCopy Process even if snap phase fails
  3. Click OK.

Changing User Account for Executing Pre-Post Commands

For a Windows MediaAgent you must specify the user account and password required for executing the Pre/Post commands.

  1. From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client> | OSSV Plug-In.
  2. Right-click the subclient and then click Properties.
  3. Click the Pre/Post Process tab.
  1. Depending on the process you want to set up, click the corresponding Browse button or enter the path of the batch file or the shell script in one of the following boxes:
    • PreSnap Process
    • PostSnap Process
    • PreCopy Process
    • PostCopy Process
  2. Click Change.
  3. Select one of the following user accounts:
    • Use Local System Account - Select this option to use the local system account on the MediaAgent for executing the Pre/Post Process commands. 
    • Impersonate User - Select this option to use an authenticated user account for executing Pre/Post commands. However, if the specified user account is not available on the MediaAgent, backup jobs using Pre/Post commands will fail.
  4. Click OK.

Modifying an Agent or Subclient

The following table describes the properties that can configured from the agent, backup set and subclient levels.

Option Description Related Topics
Change Storage Policies You can modify the storage policies in any of the following situations:
  • To include a different media for the backup operation.
  • To use a storage policy with a different retention criteria.

You can change the storage policies from the subclient level.

  1. From the CommCell Browser, right-click the subclient.
  2. Click Properties.
  3. Click Storage Device.
  4. Select the Storage policy from the drop-down menu.
  5. Click OK.
Refer to Storage Policies.
Rename a Subclient You can rename a subclient using the steps below:
  1. From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client> | OSSV Plug-In.
  2. Right-click the <User Defined Subclient> in the right pane, and then click Properties.
  3. Type a new name for the subclient in the Subclient name box.
  4. Click OK.
 
View Software Version and Installed Updates The Version tab, at the Agent level displays the software version and post-release service packs and updates installed for the component.
  1. From the CommCell browser, right-click the agent.
  2. Click Properties.
  3. Click Version.
  4. Click OK.
 

Deleting an Agent or Subclient

The following sections describe the steps involved in deleting an agent or subclient.

When you delete an instance or backupset, the associated data is logically deleted and you can no longer access the corresponding data from CommCell Console for recovery purposes.

Deleting an Agent

You need to uninstall or DeConfigure the agent software from the client computer before deleting from CommCell Browser. After you delete the client software, you can either leave the corresponding data intact for appropriate action or you can remove the data immediately. If you choose to remove the data immediately, you must delete the agent from the CommCell Browser. If you delete the agent, all of the agent's data is irretrievably lost.

  • You cannot delete an agent while operations for that agent are running.
  1. From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client>.
  2. Right-click the <Agent>, and then click Delete.
  3. A confirmation message is displayed with the following message:

    This operation will permanently delete the data backed up from this level and it cannot be restored.

  4. Click OK to continue with the deletion operation or click No to abort the deletion.

Deleting a Subclient

Consider the following before deleting a subclient:

  • You cannot delete a default subclient.
  • Schedules associated with the subclient are also automatically deleted.
  1. From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client> | <Agent> | <Backup Set>.
  2. Right-click the <subclient> that you want to delete, and then click Delete.
  3. A confirmation message is displayed, asking if you want to delete the subclient.

    Click No to cancel the deletion and retain the subclient, or click Yes to continue the deletion.