Advanced Restore Options (Options)

Restore Types

Specifies the type of restore job.

Database Restore

Specifies that the restore operation must restore the selected databases beginning with the most recent full backup and then applying differential and/or transaction log backups up to the selected restore time.

Step Restore

Specifies that the restore operation must perform a step restore by applying the selected transaction log.

Note that when you have a Quick Recovery Agent, transaction logs for a QR Volume that contains SQL data can also be restored using this option.

Whether the logs are applied to a recovered Quick Recovery Agent volume or to a SQL step restore operation, this option is available only under the following conditions:

  • Single database restores
  • The restore destination is the source computer
  • The database backup and restore histories have not been removed from the SQL server's history tables
  • The selected database was previously restored to:
    - STANDBY state for SQL step restore
    - NORECOVER state for QR Agent log application

This option is not available for:

  • Instance restores
  • Multiple database restores
  • File/File Group restores
  • When restoring data protection operations that used VSS to create the snapshot

Recover Only

Specifies that the restore operation must recover the databases to an available online state. No data is actually written. All other options are disabled when this option is selected.

Transaction Log Marks

Specifies that the restore operation must restore transaction marks in the transaction log. This option is enabled only when the database(s) selected for restore have transaction marks in the transaction log. The Restore Time list displays a list of transaction marks that exist in the selected database(s) for the given restore time. When multiple databases are being restored, this list shows only those marks that are common in name and time stamp to all selected databases in order to effect an in-sync restore.

Partial Restore

Partial restores, known as "Piecemeal Restore" in SQL Server 2005, allow databases that contain multiple filegroups to be restored and recovered in stages. The process starts with a restore of the primary filegroup, then a restore or recovery of one or more secondary filegroups.

Latest Backup Data

Allows restores of the latest backup data on one or more non system secured database in the SQL Server. You can use this feature to create a spare copy of the primary SQL server database (hot standby server) within the same domain, a different domain, or across a Wide Area Network (WAN).

Apply Log backups only

Only  available when the Latest Backup Data option is selected. Select this option if you wish to include only the transaction log backups completed since the last restore operation. The restore operation will then skip any full backup jobs completed since the last restore operation.

 If you do NOT select the Apply Log Backups Only option and the database already exists, all backup jobs completed since the last restore operation will automatically be restored. If you do NOT select the Apply Log Backups Only option and the database does not already exist, the software will automatically perform a full restore of the database.

Skip Full Backup

Select this option to NOT restore the last full backup since the specified date and time, but to instead restore only the transaction log backups. This option can be useful if the latest full backup has already been restored by third-party software and thus a restore of the SQL iDataAgent full backup is not necessary. Note that in such a case, this option only needs to be selected if a SQL iDataAgent full backup exists which is later than the full backup currently restored on the client by a third-party software.

Drop Connections To Database

Select this option to attain exclusive access to databases for restores. As database restore operations will fails if exclusive access to database cannot be obtained.

Restore to Disk

Select this option to restore the backed up data to a disk on either the same SQL Server or to a different SQL server. This restored data on the disk can be used later to perform database restore using SQL Management studio or any other third party tools.

Notes:

  • For SnapProtect, VSS-enabled, or availability group backups, ensure that the destination database and the source database have different names.
  • For SnapProtect or VSS-enabled backups, if the destination database and the source database have same names, during the Restore to Disk operation, the database to be restored does not get attached to the destination SQL instance. To avoid this situation, manually detach the database on the destination SQL instance prior to running the Restore to Disk operation.

Attach to SQL Server (Applies only for VSS and SNAP)

For Snap/VSS Backups, during restore to disk the actual database files (MDF/LDF/NDF) will be copied to the folder location provided by the user on the destination SQL server machine. In this scenario the database can be restored with different names while physical names should be left intact. All log backups which will be restored as *.bak files will not be applied to restored Full/Differential backups. This option is applicable for VSS and SNAP backups performed using SnapProtect 10.0 or higher.

Path

Type the path location of the destination SQL server, where you want to restore or browse, if you plan to restore to the same SQL server.

Verify Only

Select this option to run a restore validation job from a restore without actually restoring the database.

Checksum

Select this option to calculate the checksum on a page during backup as it writes to a disk and then calculates the checksum on the page during restore as it reads from disk. Mismatched values returned during the validation are indicative of corrupted database or page corruption on disk.

Continue After Error

Select this option to configure the SQL server to ignore the errors encountered during backups and restores and continue till the job completes.

Leave Database in restricted User Mode

Select this option to restore the database in a state where only the owner of the database can access the database.