Subclient Properties (Retention)

Use this tab to specify the time period for which you want to retain the files deleted by the system during an archive or backup job in the backup cycle. This enables you to restore the deleted files from the latest backup cycle and avoid point-in-time restores. Note that all the options described in this help may not be available and only the options displayed in the dialog box are applicable to the agent for which the information is being displayed.

For files deleted by user

By default, when you delete any files from a subclient, they will be retained in the backup cycle for 730 days before the associated storage policy copy retention is applied on the deleted files. When you run a synthetic full backup at the end of specified retention period, the deleted files will be dropped from the synthetic full backup.

  • If the file retention set for user deleted files is higher than the stub retention set for user deleted stubs, file retention settings takes precedence over stub retention settings. For example, if the file retention in the For Files deleted by user area is set to Retain Indefinitely and stub retention in the For stubs deleted by user area is set to Use storage policy copy retention after 3 days, the user deleted stubs will honor the file retention settings and will be retained in the backup cycle forever.
  • Data moved from one subclient to another is also considered as a deleted item and would honor the retention criteria set for deleted items.
  • For Laptop clients, if the number of days specified is 1 or higher or the storage policy associated with the subclient is changed then any subsequent full backup is converted to an incremental backup followed by a synthetic full backup.

Use storage policy copy retention

Select the option to apply storage policy copy retention on files deleted by user.

Use storage policy copy retention after n days

Select the option to enter the number of days after which the storage policy copy retention requires to be applied on the deleted files.

Retain Indefinitely

Select the option to retain the deleted files forever.

For stubs deleted by user

By default, when you delete stubs from a subclient, they will be carried forward forever. When you run the synthetic full backup at the end of specified retention period, the deleted stubs will be dropped from the synthetic full backup.

Stubs moved from one subclient to another is also considered as a deleted stub and would honor the retention criteria set for deleted stubs.

Use storage policy copy retention after n days

Select the option to enter the number of days after which the storage policy copy retention requires to be applied on the deleted stubs.

Retain Indefinitely

By default, the deleted stubs are retained forever.

For files deleted by archiving job

By default, the files deleted by the archive job are carried forward forever. When you run the synthetic full backup at the end of specified retention period, the deleted files will be dropped from the synthetic full backup.

Use storage policy copy retention after n days

Select the option to enter the number of days after which the storage policy copy retention requires to be applied on the deleted files.

Retain Indefinitely

By default, the deleted files are retained forever.

Versions

During a synthetic full backup, the following data are retained by default:

  • For File System data, the latest version of each file is retained.
  • For Simpana OnePass data, the latest version of each file and all data/stub pairs are retained.

Use the Versions option to retain additional file versions after running synthetic full backups.

Keep at Least n Previous Versions

Select and enter the number of previous file versions to retain after synthetic full backup jobs.

For more information on retention options for Simpana OnePass, see Retention Options for Simpana OnePass.

For more information on retention options for laptop clients, see Data Aging and Retention for Laptop Backup.