Restore Options (General) - Full Virtual Machine Restore

Use this dialog box to control how the full virtual machine will get restored. Following options are available when you are restoring a full virtual machine:

Destination client

Select a Hyper-V Server from the list.

Restore Location

Select one of the following options to specify the location where you want to restore the virtual machine.

  • Original folder

    This option is selected by default. The virtual machine will be restored to its original location on the selected destination client. If the selected destination already has any virtual machine and VHD files, they will be deleted automatically.

  • New folder

    Select this option to specify the location on the destination client where you want to restore the virtual machine.

  • Hyper-V default folder

    Select this option to restore the virtual machine to the Hyper-V default folder. Select this option when you do not know which location on the destination client has sufficient space to restore a virtual machine.

  • VM and Disk

    This column displays the list of all the disks on the selected virtual machine and location of each disk.

  • Change VM display name to

    Click in the first row of this column and enter the name of the virtual machine.

  • Destination Path

    Click first row of this column and then click . Select the location on the destination client where you want to restore the virtual machine.

Virtual Machine Restore Options

  • Power ON Virtual Machine after restore

    Select this check box to automatically power ON the virtual machine after restore completes.

  • Unconditionally Overwrite VM and VHDs in destination path

    Select this check box if you want to overwrite a virtual machine and disks in the destination location. A VHD file in the destination location will be overwritten when the name of the file is same as the name of VHD being restored.

  • Register Virtual Machine with Failover Cluster

    Select this check box to automatically register a virtual machine with the failover cluster after the restore completes. Once the virtual machine is registered, you can migrate it to any Hyper-V sever with in the cluster.

Advanced

Click this button to explore advanced options available for restore of a virtual machine.

Save As Script

Click this button to open the Save As Script dialog, which allows you to save this operation and the selected options as a script file (in XML format). The script can later be executed from the Command Line Interface using qoperation execute command.

When you save an operation as a script, each option in the dialog will have a corresponding xml parameter in the script file. When executing the script, you can modify the value for any of these XML parameters as per need.