Restore Options for All Selected Items (General) - Guest Files and Folders Restore
Use this dialog box to control how the files on a virtual machine will get restored. Following options are available when you are restoring files and folders:
Specifies that the backed up Access Control Lists (ACLs) will be applied to files that have been restored without their ACLs, or to the existing files at the restore destination. Clear this option to restore without ACLs and consequently the data assumes the ACLs of the parent directory.
Unconditional OverwriteSpecifies whether the restored data is unconditionally written to the specified location.
- Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the restore path and where the backed up data is as old or older are not restored.
- Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the restore path and where the backed up data is newer are restored.
- Files/directories whose names are different from those in the restore path are restored.
Avoid using this option whenever you run a Restore by Jobs. Otherwise, an older version of the files might be retrieved.
- Destination client
Select a Hyper-V Server from the list. The list includes Hyper-V servers which are clients within the CommCell.
- Specify destination path
Use this space to enter the path on the destination client to which the files and folders will be restored. If the specified path does not exist, it will be created during the restore process.
Click to select a path on the destination client.
Preserve Source Paths
Preserve n levels from end of source path
Specifies whether the restore operation must keep the specified number of levels at the end of source path of the selected data. For example, if the selected data is Documents\Memos\Sales, this option is set to 1 and the Destination path is temp, the data will be restored as \temp\Sales.
- Remove n levels from beginning of source path
Specifies whether the restore operation must remove the specified number of levels from the beginning of source path of the selected data. For example, if the selected data is Documents\Memos\Sales, this option is set to 1 and the Destination path is \temp, the data will be restored as \temp\Sales
Select this check box to specify the user account which you want to use for the restore operation. By default, the Local System account on the destination client is used to perform the restore operation.
Enter the user name for the user account which you want to use for the restore operation. The user should have permissions to create files in the specified location on the destination client.
Enter the password for the user account which you want to use for the restore operation.
Re-enter the password.
Click this button to configure advanced restore options.
Save As Script
Click to open the Save As Script dialog, which allows you to save this operation and the selected options as a script file (in XML format). The script can later be executed from the Command Line Interface using qoperation execute command.
When you save an operation as a script, each option in the dialog will have a corresponding XML parameter in the script file. When executing the script, you can modify the value for any of these XML parameters as per need.
For more information on restores performed from the command line, see Command Line Interface for Virtual Server iDataAgent.