Restore Options for All Selected Items (General) - Full Virtual Machine Restore

Use this dialog box to control how full virtual machine are restored. The following options are available when you are restoring a full virtual machine:

Proxy client

Displays the name of the proxy computer that will be used to perform the restore operation. By default, the proxy computer that was used to back up the virtual machine is used to restore the virtual machine.

To use a different proxy for restore, select the name of the proxy from the list.

XenPool

Displays the name of the Xen pool where the virtual machine is to be restored. To restore to a different Xen pool, click Change; then enter the master XenServer name for the destination Xen pool and provide user credentials. When restoring virtual machines to a different Xen pool, provide root user credentials or a user account having the Pool Administrator (Pool Admin) role to access the master XenServer in the destination Xen pool.

Restore in place

By default, the virtual machine is restored to the same location from which it was backed up. If you want to restore the virtual machine to a new location, clear this check box.

You can change the name and location of the virtual machine as follows:

  • VM and Disk

    This column displays the list of all the virtual machines and disks selected for restore. Expand each virtual machine to view the disks in that virtual machine.

  • Change VM display name to

    This column displays the existing name of each virtual machine. To change the name of any virtual machine, click in the corresponding row and enter the new name.

  • Xen Server

    This column displays the XenServer of each virtual machine. To change the XenServer of any virtual machine, click in the corresponding row and click ; the select the XenServer where you want to restore the virtual machine.

  • Storage Repository

    This column displays the storage repository of each disk. To change the storage repository of any disk, click in the corresponding row; then select a storage repository from the list.

    To filter a disk, select Do Not Attach for the row under the Storage Repository column that shows the disk.

Virtual Machine Configuration

  • Power ON Virtual Machine after/During Restore

    Select this option to power on the virtual machine after the restore completes.

  • Unconditionally overwrite VM with the same name

    Select this option to overwrite an existing virtual machine with the same name. If you do not select this option when restoring a virtual machine to a location that has a VM with the same name, the restore fails.

Advanced

Click this button to configure advanced restore options.

Save As Script

Click to open the Save As Script dialog, which allows you to save this operation and the selected options as a script file (in XML format). The script can later be executed from the Command Line Interface using qoperation execute command.

When you save an operation as a script, each option in the dialog will have a corresponding XML parameter in the script file. When executing the script, you can modify the value for any of these XML parameters as per need.