My Computers - Notifications

Setting Up Data Management Alerts

You can set up alerts to receive email notifications when the following occurs:

  • Your data has not been backed up in the last 4 days
  • The backup data fails to be restored
  • Other data management scenarios specified by the administrator

These alerts can be configured for one or more clients, as explained in the following sections:

For a Client

  1. From the Web Console home page, click My Data.
  2. Click the Computers tab.
  3. Click Show Details in the Actions column for the computer_name that you require.

  4. In the Alerts section, select the alerts that you want to enable:
    • No backup for last 4 days

      Use this option to receive an alert when your data from the selected client has not been backed up in the last 4 days.

    • Recovery Job failed

      Use this option to receive an alert if the backup data from the selected client fails to be restored.

    • <Custom Alerts>

      You may see other alerts aside from the one listed above. These are custom data management alerts defined by the administrator. Please contact your administrator for details.

For All Clients

  1. From the Web Console home page, click Preferences on the top-right corner.

  2. Under Manage Alerts for all Clients, select the alerts that you want to enable:
    • No backup for last 4 days

      Use this option to receive an alert when your data from all clients has not been backed up in the last 3 days.

    • Recovery Job failed

      Use this option to receive an alert if the backup data from all clients fails to be restored.

    • <Custom Alerts>

      You may see other alerts aside from the one listed above. These are custom data management alerts defined by the administrator which applies for all clients in the Web Console.

      Contact your administrator to find out when the alert is triggered.

  3. When an alert is selected or cleared, specify if you want to override the existing alert selection on each client in the Web Console by clicking Yes or No.

    If you choose not to override, the clients that do not follow the alert selection specified in this page will not be affected by the alert change. (In other words, if the alert selection between this page and the client summary page is not the same, then the alert selection in the client is not overwritten).