Editing Backup Content with Web Console

Table of Contents

The following sections describe the steps to configure the backup content for your client prior a backup operation.

Add Content

By default, the existing backup content (usually shown in gray) is defined by the administrator. You can add folders to be backed up in addition to the content defined by the administrator.

To select the files and folders to backup, use the following steps:

  1. Log on to Web Console.
  2. From the Web Console, click My Data.

  3. Click the Computers tab.
  4. Click Show Details in the Actions column for the computer_name that you require.

    The files and folders included in the backup are displayed in the Backup & Lock Content section.

  5. In the Backup & Lock Content section, click Edit to open the Backup & Lock Content dialog box.
  6. In the Content to Backup & Lock section, click Edit.
  7. To specify the content, perform either of the following, and click Done:
    • Click the Add Path icon at the upper-right corner of the window, to open the Add New Path dialog box, and enter the path of the file or folder and click Add Path.
    • Click the Browse Paths icon at the upper-right corner of the window and browse for the content.
  8. Click Save.

    The newly added file or folder is displayed in the Content to Backup & Lock section. It is included in the next backup of the computer.

Remove Predefined Content

Your computer is configured with predefined backup content defined by the administrator during the Web Console setup. The administrator defines the backup content using a subclient policy associated with your client. If you do not want to back up one or more of the folders defined by the administrator, use the following steps to override the default backup content:

Note: By overriding the default backup content, future content and filter selection changes made by the administrator will not apply to your client.

  1. Log on to Web Console.
  2. From the Web Console, click My Data.

  3. Click the Computers tab.
  4. Click Show Details in the Actions column for the computer_name that you require.

  5. In the Backup & Lock Content section, click Edit to open the Backup & Lock Content dialog box.
  6. In the Backup & Lock Content section, click Edit.
  7. To remove folders, select the check box next to the folders to remove, and click the Delete Paths icon.
  8. To confirm the deletion, click Yes in the Confirmation dialog box.
  9. Click Save.

Revert Back to Predefined Content

If you override the backup content defined by the administrator, but you would like to return to the administrator's content selections, use the steps described below:

Note: The backup content and filters you defined for the client are deleted when you revert to the administrator's selections

  1. From the Web Console, click My Data.
  2. Click the Computers tab.
  3. Click Show Details in the Actions column for the computer_name that you require.

  4. In the Backup & Lock Content section, click Edit to open the Backup & Lock Content dialog box.
  5. Click Revert.
  6. To confirm, click Yes in the Confirmation dialog box.