Advanced Backup Options (Data)

You can select advanced options to backup data. Note that depending upon the version of Windows operating system on the client and the selected backup type, some of the following may not be available.

Follow Mount Points

When selected (default) for Macintosh File System, Unix File System, or Windows File System, specifies that the backup will include both the mount point and the data pointed to from that mount point. For Windows File System, this data is backed up even if it is included in another subclient; therefore, data for this file system can be duplicated in the backup. For all supported file systems, clearing the Follow Mount Points option in the Advanced Backup Options dialog box causes the configuration (i.e., the mount point) to be backed up without backing up the data on the mounted volume.

Verify Synthetic Full

Specifies to include never-changing files in the next backup when Synthetic Full is selected in the Backup Options dialog box. This is especially useful if you run a conventional full backup only once for a given subclient, and then run incremental (or differential) backups with periodic synthetic full backups after that for an extended period of time.

Back up Data in Remote Storage

For Windows file systems, specifies that the backup include the data pointed to in remote storage. By default, the system backs up only the reparse points — pointers to the remotely stored data — and not the data itself. You must select the Backup data in remote storage option in the Advanced Backup Options dialog box in order to back up the actual remote storage data.

Collect System Info

When you select this option, the Msinfo32 utility tool is run that creates an Msinfo32.nfo log file. The Msinfo32.nfo log file is available at the following location:

C:/Program Files/NetApp/SnapProtect/Base/Temp/ Msinfo32.nfo.

Back up Files Protected by System File Protection

Specifies the backup is to include those files that are protected by the Windows System File Protection feature. This feature protects shared files that may be overwritten by application installations, such as dynamic link libraries (DLLs). This option is available for any subclient that backs up the System State.

Stop DHCP Service when Backing up System State Data

For Windows file systems, specifies the system stop DHCP services on the client computer when System State data is backed up. This option is provided for cases where you cannot use VSS to back up the System State.

Check for deleted stubs

Select this option to run a check during a synthetic full backup, to discover stubs that were moved. If a stub is found to have been moved, the information for it in the index is updated so that the archived file can be restored from backup even though the stub is not in the location where the file was archived from. For more information, see Configuring a Check for Deleted or Moved Files.

Warning: When enabled, this option starts a full system scan on the client to check for deleted or moved stubs during a synthetic full backup, which is very resource intensive. Therefore, use caution when you enable this option.

Stop WINS Service when Backing up System State Data

For Windows file systems, specifies the system stop WINS services on the client computer when System State data is backed up. This option is provided for cases where VSS cannot be used to back up the System State.

Create Backup Copy immediately

Select this option to perform inline backup copy operation.