Restore Options (General)
Use this dialog box to control how the specified data is to be restored. This dialog box is also used for selecting options related to scheduled or non-scheduled search and restore operations.
Restore ACLs Only
Specifies that the backed up Access Control Lists (ACLs) will be applied to files that have been restored without their ACLs, or to the existing files at the restore destination. Clear this option to restore without ACLs and consequently the data assumes the ACLs of the parent directory.
Restore Data Only
Specifies that the files will be restored without their original ACLs. Files and folders will inherit the permissions of their parent folder or drive.
Restore Both Data and ACLs
Specifies that all data will be restored with its original access control lists (i.e., ACL) and therefore its original security attributes.
Unconditionally overwrite only if target is a DataArchiver stub
Specifies whether a stub will be unconditionally overwritten during restore.
- Overwrite if file on media is newer
If selected, this option will overwrite the existing file with the file that was backed up/archived to the media provided the backed up/archived file is newer than the existing file.
Unconditional OverwriteSpecifies whether the restored data is unconditionally written to the specified location.
- Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the restore path and where the backed up data is as old or older are not restored.
- Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the restore path and where the backed up data is newer are restored.
- Files/directories whose names are different from those in the restore path are restored.
Avoid using this option whenever you run a Restore by Jobs. Otherwise, an older version of the files might be retrieved.
- Restore only if target exists
If selected, this option will only restore files that currently exist in the restore path. Files that exist on the media but not in the restore path will not be restored.
Restore Data instead of stub
The backed up data will be restored instead of the stub. Clearing this option will restore only the stub to the source destination and will not restore the data instead of the stub.
Recreate Mount Points
Selection of this check box allows for the creation of Mount Points.
Displays the name of the client computer to which the selected data will be restored. To change the destination computer, select one from the list. The list includes clients:
- Which are established as clients within the CommCell.
- Clients with Operating Systems that support the cross-platform restore operation from this client. (Refer to the topic titled Cross Platform Restore Operations in Books Online for additional information.)
By default, data is restored to the same computer from which it was backed up.
- Restore/Recover to Same folder
Specifies whether the restore operation will restore data to the same path from which it was backed up in the Destination Computer. (Clear this option to restore to a different path and activate the Destination folder box.)
- Specify Destination path
Use this space to enter the path on the destination computer to which the data will be restored. If the specified path does not exist, it will be created during the restore process.
On Windows computers, UNC path of a shared drive can be specified. (e.g., \\servername\sharename\directory). Click the Advanced button and enter the Windows logon information for this shared drive in the Advanced Restore Options dialog box.
Click to select a path for the Destination folder.
Preserve Source Paths
Specifies the action taken when the data is restored to another destination. The options are available only when the Restore to same folder option is cleared.
- Preserve n levels from end of the source path
Specifies whether the restore operation must keep the specified number of levels at the end of source path of the selected data. For example, if the selected data is Documents\Memos\Sales, this option is set to 1 and the destination folder is temp, the data will be recovered as \temp\Sales.
However, if this option is used to restore a file in a path that contains any valid wildcard expression (e.g., Documents\**\Sales), the default value of 1 for the option cannot be changed. Therefore, only the last found occurrence of the file is recovered, and the recovered data for all the other occurrences of the file are overwritten.
- Remove n levels from beginning of the source path
Specifies whether the restore operation must remove the specified number of levels from the beginning of source path of the selected data. For example, if the selected data is Documents\Memos\Sales, this option is set to 1 and the destination folder is \temp, the data will be recovered as \temp\Memos\Sales.
Select this option when you are restoring to a UNC Path.
Enter the username for the user account which has permissions to create files in the destination folder.
Enter the password for the user account.
Re-enter the password.
Click to select additional restore options.
Save As Script
Click to open the Save As Script dialog, which allows you to save this operation and the selected options as a script file (in XML format). The script can later be executed from the Command Line Interface using qoperation execute command.
When you save an operation as a script, each option in the dialog will have a corresponding XML parameter in the script file. When executing the script, you can modify the value for any of these XML parameters as per need.
For more information on restores performed from the command line, see Command Line Interface for Windows File System iDataAgent.