Retention Options for Deleted Files

Subclient retention settings determine when storage policy copy retention starts for deleted files. Storage policy copy retention can start immediately or be delayed for a specified period of time. Synthetic full backups manage the application of subclient retention setting. The following table illustrates the retention options available for deleted files:

 

Retention Options

Description

Example

For files deleted by user Use storage policy copy retention The files deleted by the user are retained in the backup cycle for the number of days and cycles specified in the storage policy copy retention.

You can restore the deleted files until the jobs that contain the files are within the retention period that is specified in the storage policy.

The storage policy copy retention is set to 10 days and 2 cycles.

The deleted files are dropped from the latest backup cycle and the storage policy copy retention of 10 days and 2 cycles is applied to the deleted files.

For more information on storage policy copy retention, see Data Aging-Overview and Data Aging - Getting Started.

Use storage policy copy retention after n days (default option) The storage policy copy retention is applied to the deleted files after n number of days specified.

 

The storage policy copy retention is set to 10 days and 2 cycles, and the subclient retention is set to 30 days.

The 30 days calculation for a deleted file starts from the date when an incremental backup is performed after the file is deleted.

If the file was deleted on Jan 10, and you run:

  • an incremental backup on Jan 11.
  • a synthetic full backup on Jan 15.

The number of days to retain the deleted data starts from Jan 11 when an incremental backup was performed. As a result, the deleted file is retained in the backup cycle till Feb 9.

The storage policy copy retention of 10 days and 2 cycles is then applied to the deleted file.

For more information on storage policy copy retention, see Data Aging-Overview and Data Aging - Getting Started.

Retain Indefinitely The deleted files are retained in the backup cycle forever. The deleted files are carried forward forever.