Managing Updates - Expiring Updates

Expiring Old Updates to Save Disk Space on Your Computer

When an update is installed, the older version of the binaries is backed up in a folder. By default, such updates are automatically removed after 60 days to save disk space. For example, if you installed an update 60 days ago, the update will automatically expire on the 61st day. Every 24 hours, the software silently checks for updates that meet the criteria.

When there are many updates or service packs installed on the computer, old binaries might take up a large amount of space on the computer. To save additional disk space, you can configure the nExpireUpdates additional setting to modify the number of days after which the update information can be removed.

  • When an update expires and is removed from your computer, you can no longer uninstall it.
  • Hotfixes cannot be set to expire. If you have hotfixes installed on your computer, the nExpireUpdates additional setting will not take effect on any update. To expire updates, you need to manually uninstall the hotfixes.

    If you recently installed a new service pack, then all hotfixes applied to the previous service pack are already uninstalled and replaced with the latest service pack updates.

Use the following steps to set the number of days after which the old updates should be removed from the computer:

  1. Determine whether you want to configure specific clients or all the clients in your CommCell environment.
    • To configure all clients:
      1. From the CommCell Browser, right-click the CommServe node and click Properties.
      2. In the CommCell Properties dialog box, click the Additional Settings tab.
    • To configure a specific client:
      1. From the CommCell Browser, go to the Client Computers node, right-click the Client and click Properties.
      2. In the Client Computer Properties dialog box, click Advanced.
      3. In the Advanced Client Properties dialog box, click the Additional Settings tab.
  2. In the Additional Settings tab, click Add.
  3. In the Add Additional Settings dialog box, complete the following steps:
    1. In the Name box, type nExpireUpdates.

      The Category and Type details fill automatically.

    2. In the Value box, enter the number of days after which you want to remove the update from the computer.

      Make sure not to set a small number of days.

    3. Click OK.
  4. Click OK to close the properties dialog box.