Loading...

Library Properties (Media Usage)

Use this dialog box to view or modify media usage related options in a library.

Overwrite Media

  • When Content Verification Failed

    When selected, the media is overwritten when an error is encountered while reading the On Media Label (OML).

    When cleared, a mount error is displayed when an error is encountered while reading the OML.

    If the option is enabled and if a wrong media is mounted (e.g., due to bar code switching) then there is a possibility of overwriting a valid media.

  • When it is from different CommCell

    When selected, media from other CommCells are used by overwriting the OML.

    When cleared, media from other CommCells are marked as Bad and a message is displayed in the Event Viewer indicating that the media is from a different CommCell.

  • Overwrite Media in drive if Media Not Written to in (n) Days/Hours

    This option is applicable only for stand-alone drives.

    When selected, media belonging to the same Storage Policy with the last write time exceeding the specified time, will be over written by the subsequent data protection operation. (Not applicable in the case of  Synthetic Full, Auxiliary Copy and Disaster Recovery Backup operations.)

    If the option is enabled and if a wrong media is mounted (e.g., due to bar code switching) then there is a possibility of overwriting a valid media.

    It is strongly recommended that this option be disabled at all times to prevent over-writing of data available in the media.

  • Prevent use of tapes from a different backup vendor

    Indicates whether the MediaAgent will automatically prevent the usage of media associated with other backup vendors. As each backup vendor has an unique method of writing data on a media, the system can identify media associated with a specific set of backup vendors. Contact your software provider to obtain a list of supported backup vendors.

    This option will be disabled if the When Content Verification Failed option is selected and the system will automatically overwrite the media when an error is encountered while reading the On Media Label (OML).

Auto-Discovery of Media

  • Enable Auto-Discover Media into default scratch pool

    When selected, new media is automatically discovered and assigned them to the default scratch pool, whenever new media is found in the library.

    When cleared, media must be manually discovered.

  • Default Media Type

    The default media type in the library. Note that the media available in a library must be compatible with the drives attached to the library.

  • Only use PnP disk when it is blank

    This option is applicable only for PnP Disks.

    When selected, indicates that only blank PnP disks will be auto stamped if automatic stamping is enabled and subsequently used by the MediaAgent.

  • Use disk only when the size is greater than (n) MB

    This option is applicable only for PnP Disks.

    When selected, only PnP disks greater than the specified size will be auto stamped if automatic stamping is enabled and subsequently used by the MediaAgent.

  • Auto Stamp Media in Drive

    This option is applicable only for stand-alone drives and PnP Disks.

    When selected, if an unidentified (or new) media is loaded into the drive, the system automatically stamps a new label using either the specified Barcode Labeling Scheme or a default label, which is the media creation date and time. The Default Media Type for the drive must also be identified.

    When cleared, the unidentified (or new) media must be manually stamped with an appropriate label.

Stuck in Drive

  • Enable Auto-recovery

    When enabled the MediaAgent attempts to recover media, that may be stuck in a drive. By default the MediaAgent tries to recover the media from the drive every 20 minutes. You can modify the frequency using the nAUTOSTUCKTAPERECOVERYINTERVALMIN additional setting.

  • Attempt to remove media from the drive when unload fails

    When enabled, the MediaAgent will use the move command to unmount media when the unload command in a drive fails. You may want to enable this option if your library supports options to unload drive as a part of the move command.

If the above options are not enabled, the drive status is displayed as offline, when a job encounters a stuck media or is unable to unmount the media from the drive. In such a situation, you must manually recover the media from the drive and then mark the drive online.

Unmount Media

  • Unmount Media from the drive after (n) Minutes/Hours of inactivity

    Indicates the amount of time after which idle media in the drive will be automatically unmounted, after data protection, data recovery and Auxiliary copy operations.

    In regular libraries, the media will be automatically unloaded when the media remains idle for the specified amount of time.

    In stand-alone libraries the media will either be ejected from the drive or remain in the drive in the unloaded state (depending on the drive type) when the media remains idle for the specified amount of time.