Loading...

Recover Options for All Selected Items (General)

Use the Recover Options dialog box to control how the specified data is to be recovered. Select from the following options:

Recover ACLs

Specifies that the data will be recovered with the original ACLs and therefore its original security attributes. Clear this option to recover without ACLs and consequently the data assumes the ACLs of the parent directory.

Data in device node

Specifies that Unix raw devices can be restored to either another raw device or a file.  When selected, this activates the Unconditional Overwrite option, which is required for raw device restores to complete successfully.

Unconditionally overwrite only if target is a DataArchive stub

Specifies whether a DataArchiver stub will be unconditionally overwritten during recovery.

Overwrite Files

Specifies that files will be overwritten during a recovery.

  • Overwrite if file on media is newer

    Specifies that a file will be overwritten if the version of the file on the media is newer than the version of the corresponding file (if present) on the destination computer. This is the default option when Overwrite Files is selected..

  • Unconditional Overwrite

    Specifies whether the recovered data will be unconditionally written to the specified location. This field is enabled only when Overwrite Files above is selected, and it can be disabled by selecting Overwrite if file on media is newer above.

    If cleared and Overwrite Files is not selected:

    • Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the recovery path and where the backed up data is as old or older are not recovered.
    • Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the recovery path and where the backed up data is newer are recovered.
    • Files/directories whose names are different from those in the recovery path are recovered.

    If cleared and Overwrite Files and Overwrite if file on media is newer are selected:

    • Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the recovery path and where the backed up data is as old or older are not recovered.
    • Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the recovery path and where the backed up data is newer are recovered.
    • Files/directories whose names are different from those in the recovery path and where the backed up data is newer are recovered unless Recover only if target exists is also selected.
  • Recover only if target exists

    Specifies that a file will be recovered only if its name is the same as the one in the recovery path; in other words, the file will be recovered only if it currently exists on the destination computer. This option is enabled when Overwrite Files is selected.

    For an out-of-place recovery to a destination computer, the field will be enabled only if the computer has at least version 8.0.0 of the software. If an out-of-place restore to a destination computer with a software version lower than version 8.0.0 is attempted, the field will be disabled.

  • Restore only if Target is a DataArchive Stub

    Specifies whether a DataArchiver stub will be unconditionally overwritten during recovery.

Use maximum streams available

  • Streams

    Specify the desired number of streams to be used for recovery operations.

Limit streams to be used for restore to

Restore Destination

  • Destination Client/Computer/Server

    Displays the name of the client computer to which the selected data will be recovered. To change the destination computer, select one from the list. The list includes clients which are established as clients within the CommCell.

    By default, data is recovered to the same computer from which it was archived.

  • Recover to Same Paths

    Specifies whether the recovery operation will recover data to the same path from which it was archived in the Destination Computer. (Clear this option to restore to a different path and activate the Destination folder box.)

  • Destination folder

    Use this space to enter the path on the destination computer to which the data will be recovered. If the specified path does not exist, it  will be created during the recovery process.

Advanced

Click to select additional recovery options.