Loading...

Releasing a License (Deconfiguring)

You can release the license for a client, MediaAgent, Agent, or File Archiver instance.

Procedure

To release license for a MediaAgent, ensure that all the storage policies or copies associated with the configured libraries (or drive pools) in the MediaAgent are deleted or re-associated to another MediaAgent.

  1. From the CommCell Browser, navigate to the CommCell entity from which you want to release a license.
  2. Right-click the name of the CommCell entity, and then click All Tasks | Release License.

    If you are releasing the license for a client/MediaAgent, click All Tasks | Release License for Client/MediaAgent. Then, from the Licenses Consumed pane, select the license to release, click Add and then click OK.

  3. Click Yes to confirm you want to release the license or No to abort.

    If the license is successfully released, the entity is dimmed and available for deletion.

    If the license is not released, a number of popup messages appears. In some cases, the message requests that you take some corrective action. For example, the message might advise you to ensure that there are no jobs running on the agent. In such a case, click OK and take the appropriate action. Then repeat the process.

Deconfiguring Clients

When the license for a client is released, the following will occur:

  • All functionality associated with the client will be unavailable.
  • The related files and registry entries associated with the client will not be removed from the computer.
  • To permanently delete all data and job history, delete the client in the CommCell Console.
  • For NAS iDataAgents, which do not have a software install or uninstall procedure, releasing the license for the NAS client is the same as uninstalling other Agents. After releasing the license, the following occurs:
    • The backup data is still available on the media for the retention period defined in the associated Storage Policy copy. You can browse the backup data or perform restore operations from the client to another active client of the same type within the same CommCell. However, you cannot, restore the data to the original NAS File Server, because the Client is no longer present.
    • The corresponding client icon in the CommCell Browser will appear dimmed. While this icon exists, the Client can still perform restore operations. If you delete this icon, all of the Client’s data is irretrievably lost.
  • All backup and restore job schedules (independent and those part of a schedule policy) that are related to the specific CommCell entity will continue to be displayed in the Schedule Details dialog box after the license for the entity has been released. However, only restore jobs can be performed or scheduled. Also, you will not be able to run, edit, or perform a Run Immediately operation on the schedule unless the CommCell entity is reconfigured.

Deconfiguring Agents

When the license for an agent is released, the following will occur:

  • The Agent License will be recaptured, allowing it to be reused.
  • Related files and registry entries associated with the Agent will not be removed from the computer.
  • To permanently delete all data and job history, delete the Agent in the CommCell Console.
  • All backups associated with the Agent whose license was released will be available for restore.
  • All backup and restore job schedules (independent and those part of a schedule policy) that are related to the specific CommCell entity will continue to be displayed in the Schedule Details dialog box after the license for the entity has been released. However, only restore jobs can be performed or scheduled. Also, you will not be able to run, edit, or perform a Run Immediately operation on the schedule unless the CommCell entity is reconfigured.

Deconfiguring File Archiver Instances

Releasing the license is supported only for the File Archiver for Windows Agent. All instance types can be deconfigured: Local File System, FPolicy, Celerra, and Network File Share.

When releasing the license, the following will occur:

  • The license is released if the instance being deconfigured is the last instance to use that license. The license will be consumed again when a new Instance is created or if the instance is reconfigured.
  • All archived data associated with the instance will be available for recovery. However, functionality related to issuing an archive job will not be available.
  • The related files and registry entries associated with the instances will not be removed from the computer. For example, the subclients associated with the instance will be hidden and can be re-displayed if the instance is reconfigured.
  • To permanently delete all data and job history, delete the instance in the CommCell Console.
  • All backup and restore job schedules (independent and those part of a schedule policy) that are related to the specific CommCell entity will continue to be displayed in the Schedule Details dialog box after the license for the entity has been released. However, only restore jobs can be performed or scheduled. Also, you will not be able to run, edit, or perform a Run Immediately operation on the schedule unless the CommCell entity is reconfigured.