Loading...

Erasing Data on Your Missing Laptop

When you report your laptop missing from the Web Console, you also have the option to erase files on your laptop.

When you erase files from a missing laptop, the files will be erased immediately or the next time the laptop has internet connectivity. Once confirmed, this action cannot be undone.

Before You Begin

Before you have the option to erase data on your laptop, you must report your laptop missing from the Web Console. See Report Your Missing Laptop.

Procedure

  1. Open a web browser and log in to the Web Console. See Accessing the Web Console.
  2. Click My Data and under Computers, click the name of the missing laptop.
  3. In the Secure Erase section, click Erase Content.
  4. In the Secure Erase Content box, add or remove content to erase on the lost device from the Content to Secure Erase list as follows:
    Goal Procedure
    Add data to erase that is not in the Content to Secure Erase list.
    1. Next to Content to Secure Erase, click Edit.
    2. Click the Add Paths button.
    3. In the Add New Paths dialog box, type the path on the device to the data that you want to erase in the Path box.
    4. Click Add Path.
    5. Click Done.
    Remove paths from the Content to Secure Erase list.
    1. Next to Content to Secure Erase, click Edit.
    2. Select the check boxes next to the paths that you want to remove from the list.
    3. Click the Remove Paths button.
    4. Click Done.
    Erase everything on your laptop. Select Erase all data including system files and folders.

    This option will erase everything on your laptop. Select this option only if you want to erase all data, including programs and files needed to run your laptop's operating system.

  5. To exclude items from erasure, proceed as follows:
  6. Goal Procedure
    Exclude a file or folder from erasure.
    1. Next to Exclude these Files/Folders/Patters from Erase, click Edit.
    2. Click the Add Paths button.
    3. In the Add New Paths dialog box, type the path on the device to the folder or file that you want to exclude from erasure the Path box.
    4. Click Add Path.
    5. Click Done.
    Add a file type to exclude from erasure.
    1. Next to Exclude these Files/Folders/Patters from Erase, click Edit.
    2. Click the Add Paths button.
    3. In the Add New Paths dialog box, type a filter for the file type that you want to exclude from erasure the Path box.

      For example, to exclude all .doc files, type *.doc in the Path box.

    4. Click Add Path.
    5. Click Done.
    Remove a path or file type from the Exclude these file/folders/patterns from Erase list.
    1. Next to Exclude these Files/Folders/Patters from Erase, click Edit.
    2. Select the check boxes next to the paths or file types that you want to remove from the list.
    3. Click the Remove Paths button.
    4. Click Done.
  7. To erase the contents in the Content to Secure Erase list and skip the paths and file types in the Exclude these Files/Folders/Patters from Erase list, click Erase Now.

    Once the Erase Now operation is performed, all eligible data in the Content to Secure Erase list will be deleted from the lost device. Once deleted, this data cannot be recovered.

  8. Type the confirmation message, and then click Yes.