Loading...

Erase Archived Data: Domino Mailbox Archiver

Table of Contents

Overview

The Erase Data feature allows you to permanently erase any data that was archived. This is useful if you want to erase data so that it cannot be recovered again. For example, you may want to erase archived data for legal purposes or compliance regulations. 

Keep in mind that  the erase data operation only erases the archived data - the source data will remain on the local hard drive.  Therefore, it is recommended to delete the data from the source first so that it will not be backed up again.

The Erase Data operation makes the data inaccessible for browsing and recovery - the data will remain on the media and take up space until it is aged off according to the retention rules set for the data. Data will not be recoverable using any data recovery methods. If the archive job is already content indexed, the data being erased will be removed from the index.

Using Erase Data, you can erase data such as .nsf mail databases that are visible to the IBM Domino.

Running an Erase Data Job

After the configuration has been completed (see Erase Backed-Up or Archived Data: Erasing Data by Browsing), you can now browse and erase data.

Run Erase Data Job

  1. In the CommCell Browser, right-click the <BackupSet> that contains the data to erase, click All Tasks, then Erase Data By Browsing.
  2. Click Yes to acknowledge the warning and continue.
  3. In the Erase Data by Browsing dialog box, click Browse.

    Note: When a path is selected and a browse time is specified, all data that matches the path on that client will be erased even if the data was not backed up in the specified time range or does not belong to the backup set.

  4. In the Erase Backup/Archived Data dialog box, select a browse time range and any advanced browse options, then click View Content.
  5. In the browse selection window, select the data objects that you want to erase, then click OK.

    Note: If you need to erase data from a specific folder that is not visible in the current browse selection, you need to browse to a backup taken at a point in time that included the folder. Then, you can select the data to be erased inside that folder.

Note: For clients using Indexing Version 2 that do not have backups from the previous version of indexing, the erase data by browsing operation is not performed as a separate job.

Using Find to Erase Data

The Find feature lets you search and locate data such as files and directories in a backup. Once located, this data can be erased. After erasing the data, it can no longer be browsed or restored. However, the data will remain on the media and take up space until it is aged off according to the retention rules set for the data.

Before You Begin

  • Keep in mind that the erase data operation only erases backup data. The source data remains on the local hard drive. Best practice is to delete the data from the source first, so that it will not be backed up again.
  • In the Erase Data By Browsing dialog box, only the data objects that you add to the Selected Path box are erased during the erase data operation. The additional options that you select for the browse operation only filter the data that is visible for browsing and are not applied to the data that will be erased.

Procedure

  1. In the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client> | File System.
  2. Right-click the <BackupSet> containing the data to erase, then click All Tasks |  Erase Data By Browsing.
  3. Click Yes to acknowledge the warning that the data will be permanently removed.
  4. Click Browse.
  5. In the Erase Data By Browsing dialog box, the Filters tab, click Add and select File Name filter.

    Enter search criteria such as a file name or name pattern to narrow the search. You can search for partial words without the need for wildcard characters at the beginning and/or end of the search string.

    These wildcards are supported, and can be combined:

    • * for any number of characters (including zero). For example, Accounting*.
    • ? for any one character. For example, user_group?.
    • [] for a range of characters. For example, [a-k]Lee.
    • [!] to exclude a range of characters. For example, [!a-k]Lee.

    Note: The advanced browsing options and filters only apply to the browse operation and are not applied to the erase data operation.

  6. Click View Content to see what data matches the criteria in Search Results.
  7. Select one or more items and click OK.
  8. Optionally, modify what will be erased by selecting either Browse or Delete.
  9. Confirm the data to be erased and click OK.

Viewing Erased Data

These features are available to view the data erased.

Admin Job History

You can view detailed, historical information about the Erase Data jobs in the Admin Job History Filter dialog box. 

Note: This view is only available for clients using the previous version of indexing.

  1. From the CommCell Browser, right-click the CommServe, click View, and then click Admin Job History.
  2. From the Admin Job History Filter dialog box, select the filter options that you want to apply and click OK.

Viewing Erase Data Job Details in an Erased Data Job Summary Report

The Erase Backup/Archived Data Job Summary Report displays information about erase data jobs that run in the CommCell. See Erase Backup/Archived Data Job Summary Report for details.