Loading...

Deleting Snapshots

Snapshots can either be deleted using job-based pruning or manually. Data Aging defines the retention rules and pruning of snapshots.

Before you Begin

Ensure that the snapshot  is unmounted. See Mounting and Unmounting Snapshots.

Warning: Manual deletion of snapshots is not recommended. When you delete a snapshot, you can no longer perform data recovery operations from that snapshot copy. However, if you created a backup copy from the snapshot, then you can use the snapshot to perform data recovery operations from the backup copy.

For NetApp E-series PiT engine, the order to delete snapshots must be the oldest snapshot first.

Procedure

  1. From the CommCell Browser, expand Client Computers > client > agent.
  2. Right-click the appropriate backupset, subclient or instance, and then click List Snaps.
  3. Right-click the snapshot and click Delete.

    Select all snapshots with the same Job ID for a successful deletion operation.

  4. Click Delete.
  5. Enter the confirmation text string, erase snapshots and click OK to delete the snapshot.