License Requirements - PostgreSQL iDataAgent

By default, the agent is installed using an Evaluation license. Once the evaluation period is complete, you need to obtain a permanent license from your Software Provider.

You can choose to use one of the following licensing mechanisms:

  • Traditional License, based upon products and features in your CommCell.
  • Capacity License, based on the amount of data you want to protect.

For comprehensive information on licensing, see License Administration.

Traditional License

The following license type is available for the PostgreSQL iDataAgent.

Agent or Component License Type
PostgreSQL on Unix Application Class 1
PostgreSQL on Windows Application Class 1

If you have a clustered environment, you must also obtain the following licenses based on the operating system.

Agent or Component License Type


Linux File System Server File System
  • Red Hat Linux Cluster
  • VERITAS Cluster for Linux
Cluster Group


Microsoft Windows File System (Server Class) Server File system
Microsoft Windows File System (Cluster) Cluster Group

Capacity License

If you plan to use capacity licenses, you must obtain the following license:

License Type License Consumption
Backup 1 license per CommCell for n Terabytes (TB) of protected data