Loading...

Default Subclient Coverage for Unprotected Virtual Machines

When you create a virtualization client or a backup set, a default subclient is created automatically, and all virtual machines from the vCenter are automatically included in the default subclient content. This setting ensures that all virtual machines are included in backup operations.

To prevent duplicate backups of virtual machines, any virtual machines that are included in a user-defined subclient are automatically excluded from the default subclient.  (Duplicate backups still occur if a virtual machine is included in multiple user-defined subclients.)

Warning: In a VMware instance, at least one subclient for the vCenter should be able to cover unprotected VMs. If you disable this feature for all subclients, some virtual machines in the vCenter might not be backed up.

When the default subclient is created, the Contents of subclient list in the Content tab displays All unprotected VMs as the content Type. That entry indicates that all virtual machines from the vCenter that are not included in any other subclient in the backup set will be backed up automatically by the default subclient.

  • To remove the default coverage, you can add VM entries and then delete the All unprotected VMs entry.
  • If you remove all entries from the Contents of subclient list, All unprotected VMs appears in the list again.

Note:  If all virtual machines are backed up by other subclients, a backup job for the default subclient fails.

  • To enable backup jobs for the default subclient to complete successfully when no virtual machines are discovered for the default subclient, configure the AllowEmptyDefaultSubclient additional setting on the Virtual Server Agent proxy and set the value to true.
  • To enable backup jobs for non-default subclients to complete successfully when no virtual machines are discovered for non-default subclients, configure the AllowEmptySubclient additional setting on the Virtual Server Agent proxy and set the value to true.