License Requirements - Windows File System Agent

By default, the agent is installed using an Evaluation license. Once the evaluation period is complete, you need to obtain a permanent license from your Software Provider.

You can choose to use one of the following licensing mechanisms:

  • Traditional License, based upon products and features in your CommCell.
  • Capacity License, based on the amount of data you want to protect.

For comprehensive information on licensing, see License Administration.

Traditional License

The following license types are available for Windows File System iDataAgent. You need to obtain the appropriate licenses based on your environment.

Agent or Component License Type
Microsoft Windows File System (Desktop Class) Laptop and desktop
Microsoft Windows File System (Server Class) Server File system

Note: The licenses are based on the type of computer. For example, if you install the agent on a server computer, the Server File System license is consumed.

For clustered environment, you need the following license in addition:

Microsoft Windows File System (Cluster) Cluster Group

Capacity License

If you plan to use capacity based licensing, you must obtain the following license:

License Type License Consumption
Backup 1 license per CommCell for n Terabytes (TB) of protected data